skip to Main Content

January 2018

The 97th annual meeting of the Transportation Research Board, January 7-11 in Washington DC marked the first time when a dozen professors, graduate students and researchers directly affiliated with CEE attended this multidisciplinary meeting focused on transportation. Guohui Zhang and his PhD students Qiong (Linda) Wu and Zhenning Li, and post doc researchers Cong Chen and Hao Yu made presentations and participated in poster sessions, technical committee meetings, and workshops. They reported their latest research progress in connected and autonomous vehicle management, safety modeling and analysis, and traffic operation strategies that are in progress the transportation program at UH. Oceana Francis presented a transportation safety paper coauthored with Karl Kim of Urban Planning at UH. Ricardo Archilla presented a paper and participated in two pavement committee meetings; his MS student, Grant Karr, received the 2017 University Transportation Center student of the year award. Phillip Ooi presented a paper on laser analysis of soils and his PhD student Melia Iwamoto presented a paper on a landslide warning system. Panos Prevedouros chaired the meeting of the freeway operations and connected and autonomous vehicle simulation subcommittee.  David Ma attended sessions at TRB and met with NSF officials. (Photo: professors Francis and Prevedouros at the evening reception of the Transportation Center of Northwestern University.)

Back To Top